Lista de
Patrimonio Europeo

The Archive of the Crown of Aragon

The Archive of the Crown of Aragon

This is one of the most important historical archives for the history of the old Realm of Aragon (kingdoms, principalities and dukedoms of Aragon, Catalonia, Valencia, Mallorca, Rosellon, Sardinia, Sicily, Naples and a long list of estates on the Mediterranean coast), Spain and the Mediterranean, and the oldest living archive in Europe.

Furthermore, the resources stored in the Archive document the international relations of the monarchs of Aragon with all the countries and states in the world known in Europe in the Middle Ages, particularly between the 13th and 16th centuries.

In short, the main territories on which documentation can be found, in addition to those that formed the old Realm of Aragon, are those listed below (with reference to the current name of the country to which they belong):

  • Spain: the kingdoms of Castilla, Navarre and Granada.
  • Italy: both the kingdoms that formed part of the Realm of Aragon (Sardinia, Sicily and Naples) and the ancient areas strongly linked to the Crown of Aragon (Genoa, Pisa, Sienna, Florence, Milan, Venice, etc.)
  • Monarchies, principalities and European territories: Portugal, France, England, Germany, Central European countries (the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary) and the Balkans (Croatia, Serbia and Albania), Greece (the ancient dukedoms of Athens and Neopatria) and Turkey.
  • Muslim Emirates and Kingdoms in North Africa and the Near East: Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Libya, Egypt, Syria.


To summarise, it is a centre for the conservation and promotion of documentary heritage. Its scope goes beyond the frontiers of any one country and its resources include strong European content.

Icono de conformidad con el Nivel Doble-A de las Directrices de Accesibilidad para el Contenido Web 1.0 del W3C-WAI. Este enlace abre una ventana nueva

© Ministerio de Cultura