Formulario para BUSCAR dentro del Ministerio de Educacion,Cultura y Deporte

Film and Audio-visual Arts

Conceptos básicos de la industria cinematográfica y audiovisual

All films in any medium, before being commercially released, must be presented at the ICAA or the relevant Autonomous Community to be rated according to the age group of their target audience. The Film Rating Commission is the advisory body in charge of viewing of the films.

The films may be rated according to the following age groups:

  • General admission
  • Not recommended for children under the age of 7
  • Especially recommended for children. (This classification will be added to one of the above in the case of films whose narrative and visual content are intended for this target audience).
  • Not recommended for children under the age of 12
  • Not recommended for children under the age of 16
  • Not recommended for audiences under the age of 18
  • X-rated film, access prohibited for audiences under the age of 18.

This rating must be displayed prominently at the cinema box offices or on the covers of the videos or other media.

The rating given to a film is merely a guideline, except for films with an X rating, which may be shown in special "X-rated Cinemas" only, and, in the case of non-film marketing, they must be offered to the public in special locations where minors do not have access.

To apply for a rating for an audio-visual work, the following must be submitted:

  • Copy of the work for viewing.
  • Credits and technical-artistic file.
  • Certification of the holder of the economic rights.
  • Synopsis and dialogues.
  • If it is a foreign film, in addition to the documentation above, a nationality certificate issued by the corresponding authority from that country.

Icono de conformidad con el Nivel Doble-A del W3C-WAI. Se abre en ventana nueva Titulares RSS disponibles

© Ministry of Education, Culture and Sport